Polyphonia Antiqua ‎- Ultreia!

: In stock

: Reel-To-Reel, 15 ips, ¼", 2-Track Stereo Tape

: AudioNautes Recordings

Regular price £795.95

Yves Esquieu, Ensemble De Musique Ancienne Polyphonia Antiqua – Ultreia! "Ultreia" means "forward". In the Middle Ages, this was the marching call...


Have a Question?

Be the first to ask a question about this.

Ask a Question

Yves Esquieu, Ensemble De Musique Ancienne Polyphonia Antiqua – Ultreia!

"Ultreia" means "forward". In the Middle Ages, this was the marching call of pilgrims and crusaders. At that time, thousands of people set out every year on pilgrimage to Jerusalem, Rome or Santiago di Compostella. In the twelfth and thirteenth centuries, the pilgrimage to Compostella in Galicia was certainly the most popular, because since about 830 it was rumoured that a tomb containing the remains of the Apostle James had been found in this westernmost part of Spain.

This 1982 recording with the Polyphonia Antiqua ensemble was made at the Abbey of Sénanque in the Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur region of France for the Disques Pierre Verany label. With 15 tracks arranged in the form of a medieval liturgical drama, the ensemble recreates the long march of a group of pilgrims to Compostella.

Due to its sound quality, the vinyl version of "Ultreia!" quickly became the vaunted reference LP among audiophile music fans for testing the imaging accuracy of hi-fi systems. AudioNautes aims to reproduce the extraordinary transparency and musicality of the original 1982 edition. Despite the perfect state of preservation of the master tapes, this classic is characterized by a particularly critical change of signals, combining weaker sounds from the background with extremely high dynamic peaks. Attempting to transfer this to the grooves of a record without compromising the finest nuances or, even worse, lapsing into excessive distortion was not only a challenge but a Herculean task. Scott Hull had to summon all his experience and patience to find the right compromise and settings for the remaster.

Album: Polyphonia Antiqua – Ultreia! (Sur La Route De Saint Jacques De Compostelle)
Label: AudioNautes Recordings – AN-2302
Format: 2 × Reel-To-Reel, 15 ips, ¼", 2-Track Stereo, 10.5" NAB Reel, Limited Edition, Numbered, Metal Reel
Country: Italy
Released: 2023
Genre: Classical


Tape One:

1. Ductis
2. Amour Ou Trop Tard Me Suis Pris
3. Ahi Amours, Com Dure Departie
4. Primus Ex Apostolis
5. Chevailers Mult Estes Guariz
6. Trotto 7. Sire Cuens J’Ai Vielle

Tape Two:
1. Primus Ex Apostolis
2. De Grad’a Santa Maria
3. Primus Ex Apostolis
4. Te Cantemus Domino
5. Gratulantes Celebremus Festum
6. Benedicamus Domino
7. Ad Honorem Regis Summi
8. Te Deum

The Tape Above Reel-To-Reel Tape, 15 ips, ¼", 2-Track Stereo, 10.5" NAB Reel, Album, IEC

Made-To-Order: Reel Audio Tapes are available, please allow 3 weeks for delivery. Analog Audio Reel Tape are made to order, one at a time, transferred and assembled by hand. Each package includes 15 IPS 1/4” tapes in individual boxes and a certificate of authenticity.

AudioNautes Recordings - Reel Audio Tape Discography:

  • AN-RTR-2107 Oscar's Motet Choir - Cantate Domino
  • AN-RTR-2203 Arne Domnérus - Jazz at the Pawnshop Vol. 1
  • AN-RTR-2204 Arne Domnerus - Antiphone Blues
  • AN-RTR-2205 Gregorio Paniagua - La Spagna XV, XVI, And XVII Centuries
  • AN-RTR-2303 Bengt Berg: Now The Green Blade Riseth Vol. 1
  • AN-RTR-2304 Arne Domnérus - Jazz at the Pawnshop Vol. 2
  • AN-RTR-2305 Belafonte at the Carnegie Hall
  • AN-RTR-23XX Polyphonia Antiqua ‎- Ultreia!
  • AN-RTR-23XX Joculatores - Upsalienses
  • AN-RTR-23XX Gunilla von Bahr - Solflöjt
  • AN-RTR-23XX Bengt Berg: Now The Green Blade Riseth Vol. 2

AudioNautes Recordings started with the purpose of offering the very best version of some favourite (sometimes almost unknown or forgotten) recordings. At AudioNautes, each copy is transferred in real-time, using studio-level reel-to-reel tape recorders on freshly-made RTM audiotape. Production of audiotapes is a time-consuming process so each album is released in limited batches.

No Compromise Music Reissues by Audionautes Recordings - Analog Sound, Audiophile Music, Quality Service, Expert Packaging, Fast Shipping.

Be ready to be blown away when you experience playback of true high fidelity recording on audiotape, list of Must-Hear Audiophile Recordings – new album on reel to reel audiotape. All Tape Albums Are Original Record Label Releases, No Bootlegs, No Fakes or Copies. Everything we do is driven by the desire to fulfil our audiophiles' and other customers' needs.


ITEM DELIVERY: Delivery times vary widely based on destination.

Terms of Sale: In principle, we can't accept returning and refunding but, we can accept only for defective products.

International Buyers - Please Note: Import duties, taxes & charges are not included in the item price or shipping cost. Please be aware of these are buyer's responsibility. Please check with your country's customs office to determine what these additional costs will be prior to bidding or buying.

  • Standard delivered 4-5 Days
  • Express delivered 2-4 Days
  • Worldwide tracking delivered 4-14 Days

Orders are processed and delivered Monday-Friday (excluding public holidays)

Our customers enjoy top class customer services and 30 days returns.

  • Item Returns:

  • We want you to feel happy with your purchase, so if for any reason you are not, you may send your item(s) back to us within 14 days for a full refund or exchange free of charge.

    Item Returns: We want you to feel happy with your purchase, so if for any reason you are not, you may send your item(s) back to us within 14 days for a full refund or exchange free of charge.

    Please note, postage costs are non-refundable except in the following circumstances:

    * the item you receive is different to that ordered.

    * OR the item you receive is damaged or faulty.

    In the above cases, a full refund/exchange will be issued including any additional postage costs incurred by the buyer.

    *Please note, we can only refund up to the minimum postage amount required to send your item(s) back to us. Therefore, we always recommend that items be returned to us using the royal mails 2nd class service with recorded delivery for insurance purposes.

    All items must be returned to us in their original condition within 14 days of receipt. Please let us know beforehand why you are planning on sending an item back to us and remember to include this information in your return. It is also vital that you include your user id & item number so we can deal with your request for a refund or exchange as quickly as possible.

    All refunds will be issued via your original method of payment and normally take up to 3 working days to process.

Polyphonia Antiqua ‎- Ultreia!

Regular price £795.95